Photo of graduates during the graduation ceremony.


2009 Distinguished Alumni Recognized

Nine Elizabethtown Community and Technical College alumni will be recognized Monday, October 19, for exemplary service to their professions and communities with induction into ECTC’s Hall of Distinguished Alumni.

“Higher education for these honorees began on the Elizabethtown campus,” said Dr. Thelma White, ECTC President/CEO. “While some continued their education at other colleges or universities, others elected to enter the workforce. All have been successful and have made significant contributions to society.”

Carolyn Thomason of Leitchfield, chair of the ECTC Board of Directors, said the annual recognition program also celebrates the college’s positive impact on the 12-county region its serves. “Elizabethtown Community and Technical College enriches, improves and transforms the lives of citizens through quality, affordable academic and workforce training programs,” Thomason said. “The college also helps transform the communities it serves by supporting economic development initiatives throughout the region.”

The 7 p.m. ceremony and dessert reception in the Morrison Gallery/Behen Community Room of the James S. Owen Administration Building is open to the public. The 2009 honorees are:

  • Daune Daugherty Angell, class of 1976, Indian Valley , Va., Physician, Emergency Medicine Department, Forsyth Medical Center, Winston-Salem, N.C.
  • Kelly Mark Easton, class of 1982, Elizabethtown, Judge, Hardin Circuit Court/Division III and Chief Circuit Judge, Green River Region, Commonwealth of Kentucky.
  • James Ray Jeffries, class of 1989, Glendale, General Manager, Hardin County Water District No. 2, Elizabethtown.
  • Jason C. Lambert, class of 1996, Hebron, Toxicologist, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Cincinnati, Ohio.
  • Jill Osbourne Mattingly, class of 1990, New Haven, Controller, Dow Corning Corporation, Elizabethtown.
  • John A. Pettigrew, class of 1966, North Linden, Ind., Founder/CEO/Pastor, Grace Fellowship Ministries.
  • Lawrence J. Ray, class of 1966, Kensington, Md., Deputy Director for Management/CEO (retired), National Cancer Institute, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Md.
  • John J. Scott, class of 1968, Elizabethtown, attorney.
  • Mary L. Shelman, class of 1979, Belmont, Mass., director, Agribusiness Program, Harvard University, Boston, Mass.

Each honoree’s photograph will be displayed permanently in ECTC’s Hall of Distinguished Alumni, which will be located in the new Regional Post secondary Education Center Phase II Building on the ECTC campus. Thirty-eight distinguished graduates/former students have been recognized since ECTC’s Distinguished Alumni Recognition Program was established in 2006.