2019 Distinguished Alumni Announced | ECTC

2019 Distinguished Alumni Announced

 Elizabethtown Community and Technical College on Nov. 14 will recognize six alumni for exemplary service to their professions and communities at the college’s annual Profiles of Excellence celebration. Honorees will be inducted into the college’s Hall of Distinguished Alumni.

 Now in its 14th year, the Distinguished Alumni program has celebrated the academic, professional and humanitarian endeavors of 118 former students.

 Honorees for 2019 are Todd Edlin, Dr. Nicholas Bennett Gonzalez, Rev. Jin Ming Ma, David Pace, Gina Ryan and Kendra Scott.

 Names and photos of this year’s honorees will join others in the Hall of Distinguished Alumni, on display in the atrium of the Regional Postsecondary Center on ECTC’s main campus.

 ·       Todd Edlin is Senior Manager of Flight Applications for UPS, where he has worked for over 30 years. Todd is responsible for the development and maintenance of many critical applications for the UPS Airline and was a senior manager in the design and implementation of a global communications network both in the United States and Europe. Todd has served in many leadership roles and is active in UPS’ campaign to support United Way. He holds a Bachelor of Arts in marketing and economics from the University of Kentucky and a Master of Science in Technology Management from University of Phoenix. Todd and his wife Teresa have two children, Megan and Tyler, and reside in Elizabethtown.

 ·       Dr. Nicholas Bennett Gonzalez is a first-generation college student who lived and worked in the Central Kentucky region until joining the U.S. Army in 2008. Dr. Gonzalez worked full time while completing his Associate of Arts degree at ECTC, then earned a Bachelor of Science in business administration, Master of Business Administration, and Doctor of Psychology degrees. He is a Sexual Assault Response Coordinator for the US Department of Homeland Security; was named the Department of Defense Exceptional Sexual Assault Response Coordinator of the Year in 2018; and has spent countless hours advocating for victims of sexual assault, domestic violence and other crimes. He also provides therapy at a nonprofit counseling center part-time and serves in the California State Guard. His husband, Miguel, is an active duty Army soldier currently serving in Alaska, and his daughter, Brynna, is a freshman at Meade County High School in Brandenburg.

 ·       Rev. Jin Ming Ma grew up in China. After a chance meeting with a group of Americans visiting on a trip sponsored by the United Methodist Church, Jin Ming was sponsored by Jack and Alice Scott to come to Elizabethtown. Jin Ming completed two years at ECTC then earned a bachelor’s degree from Lindsey Wilson College. Jin Ming was called to ministry and enrolled in Lexington Theological Seminary before moving to Washington state, where she completed ordination as an Elder in the United Methodist Church. She has served as the pastor at Coupeville United Methodist Church since 2007 and is a well-known fixture in the community. In 2008, she was elected from among 300 candidates as the first clergy to represent the Pacific Northwest Conference of the United Methodist Church attending the UMC General Conference. Jin Ming and her husband reside on Whidbey Island, Wash., and their daughter, son-in-law and two grandchildren live in Seattle.

 ·       David Pace is a Brandenburg native and has played a key role in the economic growth of the region. He served for eight years as mayor of Brandenburg and was key in facilitating the Base Realignment and Closure transformation at Fort Knox. He also has been heavily involved in supporting Nucor’s development of a $1.35 billion steel mill in Meade County. David is a fixture at the Meade County Fair, serving on the board since 1984 and as fair manager since 1994. He was president of the Kentucky Association of Fairs and was recognized for his leadership with the Meade County Farm Bureau Community Service Award and the William Taylor Community Service Award. David is Vice President of Member Services and Marketing at Meade County RECC and has helped build the reputation of Kentucky’s electric cooperatives as important economic development drivers. David and his wife Sharon have three adult children and four grandchildren.

 ·       Gina Ryan is the Director of Hardin County Educational and Community Television and has 34 years of experience teaching students and adults. She graduated from Elizabethtown Community College and completed her bachelor’s degree in communications and master’s degree in education from the University of Louisville. Gina has trained thousands of students, teachers and community members in media production, many of whom went on to successful careers in communications. She worked as an instructor for Fort Knox schools prior to beginning her career with Hardin County Schools in 1998. Considered one of the leading media arts teachers in the state, Gina has presented at state and national technology conferences. She was recognized as a Hardin County Schools Distinguished Alumni in 2004, received the Radcliff-Hardin County Chamber of Commerce Education Award in 2009, and was awarded the University of Kentucky Enoch Grehan Prize for Teaching Journalism/Communications in 2014. Gina is an active volunteer for St. Brigid Catholic Church. She and her husband Mike reside in Rineyville and are proud parents two to children and six grandchildren.

 ·       Kendra Stewart Scott is the Community Relations Liaison for Lincoln Trail Behavioral Health System and a realtor with ReMax-The Janet Team. She has worked in radio, the nonprofit sector and banking and dedicates herself to serving the community. Kendra is an active volunteer who has impacted many organizations including the Association of the United States Army, SpringHaven Domestic Violence Program, Elizabethtown Police Foundation, Hosparus, Hooray for Heroes, Elizabethtown Rotary Club, and her church, First Baptist Church of Elizabethtown. Kendra is an appointed member of the Elizabethtown Planning Commission and the Lincoln Trail Area Development District Board of Directors. She is a graduate of Western Kentucky University, where she was a member of the National Alumni Association Board of Directors. She is a founding member of the ECTC Alumni Network and was recognized by the Hardin County Chamber of Commerce with the Ronnie Pence Chamber Champion award in 2019. Kendra lives in Elizabethtown with her husband William and is a devoted aunt to two nieces.

 To attend the Profiles of Excellence celebration or for more information on the ECTC Alumni Network, please contact Megan Stith at megan.stith@kctcs.edu or 270-706-8721.