Auto/Diesel Program Ranked in Nation's Top 20 | ECTC

Auto/Diesel Program Ranked in Nation's Top 20

Elizabethtown Community and Technical Colleges automotive/diesel program has again been named one of the top programs in the country by Tomorrows Tech, a trade publication. The ECTC program is in the top 20 in the nation, and one of the top four in the south region. In 2011 the ECTC auto/diesel program was named one of the top four in the nation, and it has been in the top 20 in 2012, 2013 and 2014.
WIX Filters and OReilly Auto Parts, partners with Tomorrows Tech as title sponsors for the 2016 School of the Year competition, announced the Top 20 schools selected from 140 nominations across 60 schools in the U.S.

This really is one of our favorite times of the year, said Jennifer Gibson, brand manager for WIX Filters. This program brings national focus to schools that are extraordinary examples of where our industry is headed; its an honor to learn about their hard work and dedication to their craft. We look forward to seeing the video submissions.

The Top 20 schools are:

Region 1 (Northeast)
Assabet Valley Regional Technical High School: Marlborough, MA
Automotive Training Center: Warminster, PA
Benjamin Franklin Institute of Technology: Boston, MA
Essex Technical High School: Hathorne, MA
Passaic County Technical Institute: Wayne, NJ
Suffolk County Community College: Selden, NY

Region 2 (South)

Elizabethtown Community and Technical College: Elizabethtown, KY

Maxwell High School of Technology: Lawrenceville, GA Ranken Technical College: St. Louis, MO
Satellite High School: Satellite Beach, FL

Region 3 (Midwest)
Arrowhead High School: Hartland, WI
Joliet Junior College: Joliet, IL
Kishwaukee College: Malta, IL
Southern Illinois University Automotive Technology: Carbondale, IL
University of Northwestern Ohio: Lima, OH

Region 4 (West)
American River College: Sacramento, CA
Blackfoot High School: Blackfoot, ID
Lake Area Technical Institute: Watertown, SD
Rio Hondo Community College: Whittier, CA
Tulsa Tech: Broken Arrow, OK

Tomorrows Tech shares OReilly Auto Parts and WIX Filters support to recognize automotive schools and highlight the training of these promising auto repairers, collision specialists and heavy-duty service personnel, said Jennifer Clements, editor of Tomorrows Tech, a Babcox Media publication for automotive students. We are continually impressed by the caliber of training these schools are providing, and we look forward to honoring the best of the best.

The Top 20 schools were asked to submit a video highlighting their tech programs by Friday, September 16. Judges will review the video entries and select four finalists, or one from each region. The winner will be selected from the four finalists, with a surprise ceremony in October and a formal announcement during AAPEX on Oct. 31.

The winning school will receive:
Visit by Tomorrows Tech staff and program sponsors
$2,500 WIX Filters donation to the schools program
OReilly and WIX Filters gear
Appearance by either the WIX or OReilly Auto Parts marketing unit
Travel for the class instructor and a guest to Las Vegas to attend Babcox Medias recognition dinner at AAPEX

Each nominated school will receive national recognition in Tomorrows Tech print and online editions, as well as through social media channels. Schools selected to the final four will receive a professional automotive tool set and a $250 gift card from OReilly Auto Parts.

auto diesel facultyThe ECTC automotive/diesel faculty team work together to provide a valuable learning experience for their students. Picture, left to right: Steve Gabehart, John Chism, Joe Valora, Doug Poteet, and Jerry Clemons, program coordinator.