ECTC PTK chapter earns 11 awards at state conference | ECTC

ECTC PTK chapter earns 11 awards at state conference

April 17, 2024

The Elizabethtown Community and Technical College Phi Theta Kappa chapter, Alpha Lambda Delta, was recently honored for an array of achievements at the state PTK conference held March 22-23 at Big Sandy Community and Technical College.

“I am incredibly proud of everyone involved, as these awards are a testament to the hard work put in over the past two semesters,” said ECTC faculty member and PTK advisor Kevin Parrett. “Furthermore, the awards highlight the strong sense of teamwork and camaraderie within PTK on our campus.”

The awards included:

Five Star Chapter Plan. This multi-requirement award was awarded to only six of the 22 Kentucky chapters.

Most Distinguished Officer Chapter. The award is presented in recognition of an exceptional atmosphere of teamwork, promotion of Honors in Action, and enthusiasm for the society’s hallmarks — scholarship, leadership, fellowship and service. ECTC’s chapter was one of three to earn the award.

Honors in Action Distinguished Theme Award. ECTC’s chapter earned this award with the highest score in one of the themes, Economics of Play, of the honors study topic, The Art and Science of Play, of the Honors in Action project.

Distinguished Chapter Officer Award. Recent ECTC graduate Kristine Watts earned this award for demonstrating leadership, promotion of Honors in Action, engagement in the society and enthusiasm for the society’s hallmarks.

Bert T. Combs Outstanding Member Award. ECTC student Ursula Davidson earned this award and a stipend for going above and beyond in her leadership role at the local and state levels.

Horizon Advisor Award. Determined by the regional coordinator, this award recognizes advisors who make significant contributions to the Kentucky Region such as hosting and presenting at regional events, sponsoring a regional officer, serving as an advisor to the PTK Alumni Chapter. ECTC faculty earned 25% of the Kentucky advisor awards, and this is the first time all ECTC advisor won during the same year. Winners included: Kevin Parrett, Miky Wright, Yavaletta “Kae” Cooper and Navin Madras. The advisors also earned the Distinguished Advisor Team Award. Parrett also earned a Distinguished Advisor Award.

PTK is an international honor society specifically for two-year colleges and is dedicated to encouraging scholarship, leadership and service. Membership is by invitation based on grade-point average, character and citizenship.

Awards from PTK groups