Student Return to Campus Protocols
The coronavirus (COVID-19) has created significant health risks for some populations. In alignment with guidance from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC), the Governor of Kentucky and the State Health Department, the Kentucky Community and Technical College System (KCTCS) has developed and established safety protocols to assist its colleges in maintaining safe working and learning environments. These protocols outline additional precautions for student, employee, and community safety.
Elizabethtown Community & Technical College is currently following the guidance provided by the Kentucky Department of Public Health.
STUDENTS AND COVID-19
Students must be aware of and work with faculty, staff, and administration during these extraordinary times as required by the KCTCS Code of Student Conduct, Article II, Section 3, Standard 2.4, and the Appendix, entitled Crisis or Emergency Plans, Protocols and Guidance.
NOTE: FOR THE PURPOSES OF KCTCS PROTOCOLS IN THIS DOCUMENT, QUARANTINE MEANS TO STAY OFF-CAMPUS OR OUT OF THE OFFICE FOR THE SPECIFIED PERIOD OF TIME. While we advise you to follow the CDC guidelines as outlined below, we have no authority over your actions while not on KCTCS property.
Quarantine Protocols due to Exposure
Quarantine if you have been in close contact (within 6 feet* of someone for a cumulative total of 15 minutes or more over a 24-hour period) with someone who has COVID-19, unless you have been fully vaccinated.
Calculating Quarantine: The date of your exposure is considered day 0. Day 1 is the first full day after your last contact with a person who has had COVID-19. Stay home and away from other people for at least 5 days.
People who are fully vaccinated do NOT need to quarantine after contact with someone who had COVID-19 unless they have symptoms. However, fully vaccinated people should get tested 5 days after their exposure, even if they don’t have symptoms.
*NOTE: For KCTCS the “within 6 feet” guideline should be used for anyone reporting a possible exposure off campus/outside of work. If the exposure is due to an on-campus exposure (i.e. a classroom or office area) then the determination for those that need to quarantine can be anyone that was within 3 feet of the positive case individual for a cumulative total of 15 minutes or more during that day. Your Healthy at Work Officer will make that determination.
Close Contact NOT fully vaccinated
If you have been in close contact with someone diagnosed with COVID-19 you will quarantine for 10 days after the date you came in contact with the positive person if you have NO symptoms. Quarantine may be shortened to 5 days if you have NO symptoms and test negative on or after day 5 of quarantine and wear a mask around others for 10 days.
Monitoring and Reporting Symptoms
Anyone experiencing the following symptoms must stay away from Campus:
- Fever of 100.4F or higher
- Chills or Sweating (regardless of actual temperature rating)
- New Cough
- Difficulty Breathing
- Sore Throat
- Muscle aches, body aches
- Stomach upset or vomiting and diarrhea
- Loss of taste or smell
- Link to current CDC list of symptoms
Students who experience any of the symptoms outlined above, should seek a COVID-19 test if possible. While awaiting test results and/or if instructed to self- isolate, students must contact your instructor(s) immediately to report that you are experiencing COVID-19 symptoms.
If COVID-19 Positive or Waiting on Test Results
Calculating Isolation: Day 0 is your first day of symptoms or a positive viral test. Day 1 is the first full day after your symptoms developed or your test specimen was collected.
Everyone, regardless of vaccination status:
- If you have no symptoms, you can return to campus on day 5.
- If you are fever-free for 24 hours (without the use of fever-reducing medication) and your symptoms are improving after 5 days, you can return to campus on day 5.
- If you are severely ill with COVID-19 and/or have a fever and/or symptoms are persisting, isolate for 10 days and return to campus on day 10.
NOTE: People who are severely ill and/or hospitalized with COVID-19 or have a severely weakened immune system may need to stay home between 10 and 20 days after symptoms first appeared. Consult your healthcare provider.
Return to Campus
Regular class attendance is strongly encouraged to facilitate maximum educational advantage. Attendance may take the form of in-person or online participation. Instructors are required to articulate a course attendance policy within the course syllabus. The attendance policy must include the impact of attendance on related course outcomes (e.g., assignments, examinations, presentations, final course grade, etc.) Regardless of the modality of delivery, students are expected to adhere to each instructor's course attendance policy. In the case of absence, students are responsible for consulting the course syllabus and instructor regarding missed course content.
Return to Class
Instructors are not obligated to provide an opportunity for completing makeup assignments unless student provides timely notice of an absence. Students who are unable to attend class because of sanctioned university events, or extenuating circumstances such as illness, accident, hospitalization, or infectious disease-related reasons (i.e. Coronavirus), should notify the instructor and be prepared to supply the instructor and with any verifications of the absence as specified in the course syllabus. Faculty will work with administration to ensure students have a safe, productive, and appropriate return to classrooms.